EFCC arrests 11 for illegal mining in Ilorin

Kindly Share This Story:

Eleven suspected illegal miners have been arrested by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, Ilorin Zonal Command, for illegal mining activities in Kwara State.

The Command also impounded eight truckloads of assorted minerals.

The suspects are Ibrahim Gambo, Hakeem Saka, Ahmad Muktar, Sulaiman Ibrahim, Ibrahim Muhammad, Jamiu Mustapha, Rabiu Musa, Aisha Muham, Abdulwasiu Hannafi, Qudus Olalere and Babatunde Hakeem.

They were arrested on Wednesday, May 5, 2024, upon credible intelligence at different locations in Ogbomosho, Oyo State while conveying assorted solid minerals suspected to be marble stone, white powder, lithium, lepidolite to undisclosed destinations without lawful authority.

The suspects will be arraigned in court upon conclusion of ongoing investigations, according to the Head, Media and Publicity, Dele Oyewale, in a statement in Ilorin on Friday.

Kindly Share This Story:

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

amehnews greetings

%d bloggers like this: