Eight countries for Lagos 2016 Africa Beach Soccer

Kindly Share This Story:

Eight countries have been scheduled to take part in  the 2016 Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations from December 13 to 16 in Lagos.


The Lagos State Government is the sponsor of the championship.

Ivory Coast, Egypt, Ghana, Libya, Madagascar, Morocco and Senegal will join hosts Nigeria at the competition, which will hold at the Eko Atlantic City.

Nigeria are in Group A along with Ivory Coast, Ghana and Egypt while Senegal, Morocco, Madagascar and Libya are in Group B.

The tournament is the qualifiers for the 2017 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in the Bahamas.

Lagos State Commissioner for Information, Steve Ayorinde, said at a press conference at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos,  on Friday the competition was in line  with the state government’s agenda to make the state one of the best megacities in the world.

“Governor Akinwunmi Ambode’s administration in Lagos is hinged on the premises of making Lagos one of the biggest megacities in the world through tourism, hospitality, entertainment, arts and sports,” Ayorinde said.

“This is why we are working earnestly with the Local Organising Committee of the Nigeria Football Federation to see that the competition holds without hitches. The spectators will be treated to side attractions such as music and dances as the competition holds alongside the One Lagos Fiesta, which is in its second edition.

“The Lagos State Government is committed to sports development,  which is why the governor has said there will be the construction of five new stadia across the five divisions of the state to mark the state’s golden jubilee anniversary in 2017.”

NFF President, Amaju Pinnick, praised the state government for accepting to host the event, adding that the state has been the hub of sports in the country.

Kindly Share This Story:

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

amehnews greetings