Iheanacho, Iwobi and Oshoala up for Glo-Caf awards

Kindly Share This Story:

The Nigeria trio, Florence Omagbemi and the Dream Team VI have been nominated along with the Super Falcons for African football prize


Arsenal duo Alex Iwobi and Asisat Oshoala have both been nominated for the 2016 Glo-Caf awards.

The Confederation of African Football released the nominees for the other categories for the 2016 awards with Nigeria in contention for six awards.

For the Women Player of the Year crown, Oshoala will battle with South Africa’s Janine Van Wyk, Cameroon’s Gabrielle Onguene, Raissa Feudjlo Tchanyo and Ghana’s Elizabeth Addo for the top prize.

Kelechi Iheanacho, who has enjoyed a superb season with Champions League hopefuls Manchester City, is up for the Most Promising Talent’s prize with Oghenekaro Etebo, Egypt’s Ramadan Sobhi and DR Congo’s Elia Meschak.

Iwobi will face a stiff challenge in Cote d’Ivoire’s Frank Kessie, Ghana’s Eric Ayiah, Mali’s Sidiki Maiga and Ghana women’s Sandra Owusu-Ansah for the Youth Player of the Year honour.

The managers listed for Coach of the Year award are Florent Ibenge (DR Congo), Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic (Uganda), Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Nacer Sandjak (Mo Bejaia) and Florence Omagbemi (Nigeria women’s national team) with DR Congo, Guinea Bissau, Nigeria U-23, Senegal and Uganda shortlisted for National team of the Year award.

The Glo- Caf awards Gala nite will take place on Thursday, 5 January 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.
Women’s Player of the Year
Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)
Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)
Gabrielle ABOUDI ONGUENE (Cameroon & Rossiyanka)
Janine VAN WYK (South Africa & JVW)
Raissa FEUDJIO TCHUANYO (Cameroon & Aland United)

Most promising Talent
Elia MESCHAK (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City)
Naby KEITA (Guinea & RB Leipzig)
Oghenekaro ETEBO (Nigeria & CD Feirense)
Ramadan SOBHI (Egypt & Stoke City)

Youth Player of the Year
Alex IWOBI (Nigeria & Arsenal)
Eric AYIAH (Ghana U-17)
Franck KESSIE (Cote d’Ivoire & Atalanta)
Sandra OWUSU-ANSAH (Ghana & Supreme Ladies)
Sidiki MAIGA (Mali U-20)

Coach of the Year
Florent IBENGE (DR Congo)
Milutin ‘Micho’ SREDOJEVIC (Uganda)
Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Nacer SANDJAK (MO Bejaia)
Florence OMAGBEMI (Nigeria women’s national team)

Referee of the Year
Papa Gasama, Gambia
Grishea Gehead, Egypt
Malang Diedhiou, Senegal

Club of the Year
Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
MO Bejaia (Algeria)
TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
Zamalek (Egypt)
Zesco United (Zambia)

National Team of the Year
DR Congo
Guinea Bissau
Nigeria U-23

Women’s National Team of the Year
South Africa

Kindly Share This Story:

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

amehnews greetings