NB-ETF Sends Maltina Teacher of the Year Winners to Finland for Capacity Development Training

Kindly Share This Story:

In line with its commitment to Nigeria’s socio-economic development, the Nigerian Breweries Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund (NB-ETF) has fulfilled its promise by sponsoring five past winners of the Maltina Teacher of the Year Competition to Tampere, Finland, for capacity development training. The teachers who participated include Olasunkanmi Opeifa, Olubunmi Anani, Abanika Taiye, Alaku Ayiwulu, and Adeola Adefemi.

The capacity development training, held from Monday, May 20, 2024, to Thursday, May 30, 2024, is part of the reward for the competition winners. During the training, the teachers engaged in various modules focused on practical-based teaching skills.

Mr. Hans Essaadi, Chairman of the Nigerian Breweries Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund, explained that the training aimed to expose the teachers to modern teaching methods that are both productive and impactful. Essaadi stated that the program is designed to upskill and maximize the teachers’ capacities, enabling them to deliver education effectively and improve student performance.

The past winners expressed profound appreciation to the management of the NB-ETF for making the opportunity a reality. They described the experience as transformative, enhancing their skills in both teaching and leadership.

Adeola Adefemi, the 2023 winner, stated that the training was comprehensive and fulfilling. She pledged to use her new knowledge to transform education in Nigeria. Alaku Ayiwulu, the 2022 winner, praised the training as transformative, providing firsthand experience in different learning approaches and the importance of student-centered collaboration.

Abanika Taiye, the 2021 winner, highlighted the experience’s emphasis on collaborative and cooperative learning practices. Olubunmi Anani, the 2020 winner, noted the differences between Nigerian and Finnish education systems, with the latter focusing on independent thinking, creativity, and innovation.

Olasunkanmi Opeifa, the 2019 winner, found the capacity training illuminating. He believes that the Finnish education model, which emphasizes trust, autonomy, creativity, and collaboration, is worth adopting in Nigeria. Opeifa expressed his readiness to apply these insights in leadership and pedagogy, suggesting that Nigeria’s educational system has much to learn from Finland.

The Maltina Teacher of the Year Competition, established in 2015 and funded through the Nigerian Breweries-Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund, aims to contribute to the development of the education sector in Nigeria, in line with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goal No. 4.

About the Maltina Teacher of the Year Competition
Launched in 2015 by the Nigerian Breweries-Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund, the Maltina Teacher of the Year Competition is a national initiative to identify, honor, and reward outstanding teachers in Nigeria. The competition is endorsed by the Federal Ministry of Education and various education stakeholders, including the Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT), All Nigeria Confederation of Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPPS), and the Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria (TRCN).

About Nigerian Breweries-Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund
Established in 1994 with a startup capital of 100 million Naira, the Nigerian Breweries-Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund aims to sustain quality education through structured interventions. The Fund has impacted all six geographical zones of Nigeria at primary, secondary, and tertiary levels of education, constructing and furnishing over 400 classrooms, sanitary facilities, and libraries in 74 communities, and granting scholarships to deserving students in tertiary institutions.

Kindly Share This Story:

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

amehnews greetings

%d bloggers like this: